Frazier Teaching Award: Call for Nominations


John R. Frazier Award for Excellence in Teaching

The John R. Frazier Award Committee invites all students, faculty, staff, alumni, and trustees to submitnominations for the 2017-18 academic year. The award is presented each year at Commencement to one full-time and one part-time faculty member who embodies the highest ideals to which our faculty aspires, and who has had an enduring influence on student learning. Those who have received the award have said it is one of the highlights of their teaching career. All students, faculty, staff, alumni, and trustees are invited to take time to carefully consider who might be deserving of nomination to receive the Frazier Award for Excellence in Teaching.

As you develop your nomination, please consider:

How has this teacher inspired you? Challenged you to think differently? Motivated you to learn new ideas or practices? Facilitated an engaging learning environment? Provided insightful and constructive feedback?

Please use submit a Nomination Form. In lieu of the nomination form, a letter of recommendation covering the following criteria is also acceptable:

  • inspires students and activates student learning

  • communicates clearly and effectively

  • encourages critical thinking

  • models respect for students

  • organizes subject and studio/classroom for effective learning

  • beyond classroom involvement, contributes or demonstrates a commitment to RISD, our community, or learning

Eligible nominees:

Nominees must be full-time or part-time faculty members at Rhode Island School of Design.

One full-time and/or one part-tim nomination will be accepted from each nominator. Nominators are encouraged to consider more than the experience of a single course.

Previous recipients and current committee members (listed below) are not eligible for nomination.

The Frazier Award Committee will review all nominations, student evaluations, and syllabi, and will select faculty members who consistently demonstrate exceptional ability according to these guidelines.

The John R. Frazier Award fund was established in 1968 by RISD alumni, friends and family of the late John Frazier, President of RISD from 1955 to 1962, and a beloved professor of painting for many years.


Nomination forms must be received by: 4:00 p.m., February 14, 2018

Please send to:  Justine Bubar, 401-709-8482

By E-Mail:

By Mail:  RISD, Academic Affairs, 2 College Street, Providence, RI  02903-2784

In Person: Academic Affairs, 20 Washington Place, (Prov Wash), Room


Current Frazier Award Committee members:

Claudia Ford, HPSS

Mairead Byrne, LAS

Brett Schneider, ARCH

Daniel Cavicchi, Interim Provost

Previous recipients and current committee members (listed below) are not eligible for nomination.

Previous Recipients:

Victor Lara, Foundation Studies, 1987
Bill Drew, Illustration, 1990
Scott Cook, HPSS, 1991
Lee Dejasu, Foundation Studies, 1992
Cornelia McSheehy, Printmaking, 1994
Peter O’Neill, Film/Animation/Video, 1995
Tom Mills, Foundation Studies, 1996
Jim Barnes, Architecture, 1998
Yuriko Saito, HPSS, 1999
Ken Horii, Foundation Studies, 2001
Wilbur Yoder, Architecture, 2003
Dan Cavicchi, HPSS, 2004
Fritz Drury, Illustration, 2005
Wendy Seller, Foundation Studies, 2005
Jeffrey Hesser, Foundation Studies, 2006
Gwen Strahle, Foundation Studies, 2007
Andrew Raftery, Printmaking, 2007
Hanna Hohenberg, Apparel Design, 2008
Leslie Fontana, Industrial Design, 2008
Alba Corrado, Foundation Studies, 2009
Michael Fink, English, 2009
Lane Myer, Sculpture, 2010
Dennis Congdon, Painting, 2010
Amy Kravitz, Film/Animation/Video, 2011
Douglass Scott, Graphic Design, 2011
Anne West, Graduate Studies, 2012
Damian White, HPSS, 2012
Jocelyn Prince, Glass, 2013
Fred Lynch, Illustration, 2013
Jean Blackburn, Illustration, 2014
Dalia Linssen, HAVC, 2014
Thomas Ockerse, Graphic Design, 2015
Jennifer Joy, Sculpture, 2015
Mairead Byrne, Literary Arts Studies, 2016
Ezio Genovesi, European Honors Program, 2016
Kevin Zucker, Painting, 2017
Tom Roberts, HPSS, 2017
Peter Yeadon, INTAR 2018
Claudia Ford, HPSS, 2018

Recipients who are Retired, Resigned, Deceased:

Derek Bradford, 1979
George Pappas, 1984
Margaret McAvin, 1986
J. Malcolm Grear *, 1986
Yvonne Andersen *, 1987
Dean Richardson *, 1988
Cathy Seigel, 1988
David Niles, 1989
Wendy MacNeil, 1989
Gerald Immonen, 1990
Gregor Goethals, 1993
Lorraine Howes *, 1993
Deborah Bright, 1995
Merlin Szasz, 1996
Marc Harrison, 1997
Ken Hunnibel, 2004
Julia Bryan-Wilson, 2006
Brice Hobbs*, 2002
Eddie Oates*, 2000

* Professors Emeriti/ae


Frazier Teaching Award

Scroll Up