Call for Nominations: John R. Frazier Award for Excellence in Teaching

John R. Frazier Award for Excellence in Teaching

The John R. Frazier Award is presented each year at Commencement to one full-time and one part-time faculty member who embodies the highest ideals to which our faculty aspires. Those who have received the award have said it is one of the highlights of their teaching career. All students, faculty, staff, and trustees are invited to take time to carefully consider who might be deserving of nomination to receive the Frazier Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Please note that:

One full-time and/or one part-time nomination will be accepted from each nominator.

Previous recipients and current committee members (listed below) are not eligible for nomination.

Please use the Nomination Form attached or electronic form. In lieu of the nomination form, a letter of recommendation covering the following criteria is also acceptable:

  • communicates clearly and effectively

  • encourages critical thinking

  • motivates and inspires students

  • demonstrates respect for students

  • demonstrates concern with student learning

  • organizes subject and studio/classroom for effective learning

  • beyond classroom involvement, contributes or demonstrates a commitment to RISD, our community, or learning

The Frazier Award Committee will review all nominations, student evaluations, and syllabi, and will select faculty members who consistently demonstrate exceptional ability according to these guidelines.

The John R. Frazier Award fund was established in 1968 by RISD alumni, friends and family of the late John Frazier, President of RISD from 1955 to 1962, and a beloved professor of painting for many years.


Nomination forms must be received by:

4:00 PM, Monday, 15th February 2016


Please send to:  Nicole da Cruz (401-709-8482)


By E-Mail:

By Mail:  RISD, Academic Affairs, 2 College Street, Providence, RI  02903-2784

In Person: Academic Affairs, 20 Washington Place, (Prov Wash), Room 431


Current faculty and administrative Frazier Award Committee members are:

Dalia Linssen, History of Art + Visual Culture

Thomas Ockerse, Graphic Design

David Frazer, Painting

Pradeep Sharma, Provost

Previous Recipients

Recipients who are

Retired, Resigned, Deceased

Victor Lara, Foundation Studies, 1987

Bill Drew, Illustration, 1990

Scott Cook, HPSS, 1991

Lee Dejasu, Foundation Studies, 1992

Cornelia McSheehy, Printmaking, 1994

Peter O’Neill, Film/Animation/Video, 1995

Tom Mills, Foundation Studies, 1996

Jim Barnes, Architecture, 1998

Yuriko Saito, HPSS, 1999

Ken Horii, Foundation Studies, 2001

Wilbur Yoder, Architecture, 2003

Dan Cavicchi, HPSS, 2004

Fritz Drury, Illustration, 2005

Wendy Seller, Foundation Studies, 2005

Jeffrey Hesser, Foundation Studies, 2006

Gwen Strahle, Foundation Studies, 2007

Andrew Raftery, Printmaking, 2007

Hanna Hohenberg, Apparel Design, 2008

Leslie Fontana, Industrial Design, 2008

Alba Corrado, Foundation Studies, 2009

Michael Fink, English, 2009

Lane Myer, Sculpture, 2010

Dennis Congdon, Painting, 2010

Amy Kravitz, Film/Animation/Video, 2011

Douglass Scott, Graphic Design, 2011

Anne West, Graduate Studies, 2012

Damian White, HPSS, 2012

Jocelyn Prince, Glass, 2013

Fred Lynch, Illustration, 2013

Jean Blackburn, Illustration, 2014

Dalia Linssen, HAVC, 2014

Thomas Ockerse, Graphic Design, 2015

Jennifer Joy, Sculpture, 2015

Derek Bradford, 1979

George Pappas, 1984

Margaret McAvin, 1986

J. Malcolm Grear *, 1986

Yvonne Andersen *, 1987

Dean Richardson *, 1988

Cathy Seigel, 1988

David Niles, 1989

Wendy MacNeil, 1989

Gerald Immonen, 1990

Gregor Goethals, 1993

Lorraine Howes *, 1993

Deborah Bright, 1995

Merlin Szasz, 1996

Marc Harrison, 1997

Ken Hunnibel, 2004

Julia Bryan-Wilson, 2006

Brice Hobbs*, 2002

Eddie Oates*, 2000

* Professors Emeriti/ae


Call for Nominations, Frazier Teaching Award, teaching

Scroll Up