Final call Frazier Award Nominations

The John R. Frazier Award is presented each year at Commencement to one full-time and one part-time faculty member who embodies the highest ideals to which our faculty aspires. Those who have received the award have said it is one of the highlights of their teaching career.  All students, faculty, staff, and Trustees are invited to take time to carefully consider who might be deserving of nomination to receive the Frazier Award for Excellence in Teaching.
One full-time and/or one part-time nomination will be accepted from each nominator.

Previous recipients and current committee members (listed below), and administrative staff who teach, are not eligible for nomination.

Current faculty and administrative Frazier Award Committee members are:

  • Wendy Seller, Foundation Studies, Chair
  • Dean Snyder, Sculpture
  • Lane Myer, Sculpture
  • Jerri Drummond, Interim Dean of Students
  • Rosanne Somerson, Interim Provost
  • Edward Choi, Student
  • Meredith Hoffman, Student
Previous Recipients Recipients Who Are Retired, Resigned, Deceased
Victor Lara, Foundation Studies, 1987

Bill Drew, Illustration, 1990

Scott Cook, Liberal Arts, 1991

Lee Dejasu, Foundation Studies, 1992

Cornelia McSheehy, Printmaking, 1994

Deborah Bright, Liberal Arts, 1995

Peter O’Neill, Film/Animation/Video, 1995

Tom Mills, Foundation Studies, 1996

Merlin Szasz, Foundation Studies, 1996

Jim Barnes, Architecture, 1998

Yuriko Saito, Liberal Arts, 1999

Eddie Oates, Foundation Studies, 2000

Ken Horii, Foundation Studies, 2001

Brice Hobbs, Foundation Studies, 2002

Wilbur Yoder, Architecture, 2003

Dan Cavicchi, Liberal Arts, 2004

Fritz Drury, Illustration, 2005

Wendy Seller, Foundation Studies, 2005

Jeffrey Hesser, Foundation Studies, 2006

Gwen Strahle, Foundation Studies, 2007

Andrew Raftery, Printmaking, 2007

Hanna Hohenberg, Apparel Design, 2008

Leslie Fontana, Industrial Design, 2008

Alba Corrado, Foundation Studies, 2009

Michael Fink, Liberal Arts, 2009

Lane Myer, Sculpture 2010

Dennis Congdon, Painting 2010

Amy Kravitz 2011

Douglass Scott 2011

Derek Bradford, 1979

George Pappas, 1984

Margaret McAvin, 1986

J. Malcolm Grear *, 1986

Yvonne Andersen *, 1987

Dean Richardson *, 1988

Cathy Seigel * 1988

David Niles, 1989

Wendy MacNeil, 1989

Gerald Immonen, 1990

Gregor Goethals *, 1993

Lorraine Howes *, 1993

Marc Harrison, 1997

Ken Hunnibel, 2004

Julia Bryan-Wilson, 2006

Please use the attached Nomination Form .  In lieu of the nomination form, a letter of recommendation covering these criteria is also acceptable:

  • communicates clearly and effectively
  • encourages critical thinking
  • motivates and inspires students
  • demonstrates respect for students
  • demonstrates concern with student learning
  • organizes subject and studio/classroom for effective learning
  • demonstrates a commitment to RISD

The Frazier Award Committee will review all nominations, student evaluations, and syllabi, and will select faculty members who consistently demonstrate exceptional ability according to these guidelines.

The John R. Frazier Award fund was established in 1968 by RISD alumni, friends and family of the late John Frazier, President of RISD from 1955 to 1962, and a beloved professor of painting for many years.

Nomination forms must be received by:

4:00 p.m., Monday, February 20, 2012

Please send to:  Alice Geoffrey, 401-277-4946

By E-Mail:

By Mail:  RISD, Academic Affairs, 2 College Street, Providence, RI  02903-2784

In Person: Academic Affairs, 20 Washington Place, (Prov Wash Bldg.), Room 445

Nomination Sheet

John R Frazier

Scroll Up