Fall 2011 Professional Development Fund Awards

The Professional Development Fund Committee met in November to review project proposals submitted for its Fall 2011 funding cycle. The Committee received 23 proposals for a total of more than $85,000 in support.

The Committee is pleased to announce the following awards:

Tulay Atak, Critic, Architecture/Graduate Studies/ History of Art + Visual Culture, for her research on LeCorbusier’s drawings of Istanbul.

Dennis Congdon, Professor, Painting, for documentation related to his upcoming solo show at the Cue Art Foundation in NY.

Christina Connett, Lecturer, History of Art + Visual Culture, for her cataloging of the resources of the Qatar Museum Authority and dissemination of this knowledge to fellow  scholars of cartography.

MaryAnne Friel, Assistant Professor, Textiles, for her curation of Natural Discourse: Artists, Architects, Scientists & Poets in the Garden  at UC Berkeley and the development of her own work for the exhibition.

Thomas Gardner, Critic, Architecture, for interviews related to the  first English translation of  the”Le Volume Bleu et Jaune” project executed in the 1970’s by two French architects.

Yuri Kobayashi, Critic, Furniture, to support her artist’s residency at the Anderson Ranch Arts Center.

Winnie Lambrecht, Senior Lecturer, History of Art + Visual Culture/History, Philosophy and Social Sciences,  for interviews + photography of community bakers to be presented at professional meetings with her recent documentary on communal bread ovens.

Matthew Landrus, Lecturer, History of Art + Visual Culture, for research in British archives on the roles of technical expertise, memory, and tradition in medieval scriptoriums.

Masha Ryskin, Critic, Foundation Studies, to support her residency in Reykjavik, Iceland where she will develop work dealing with the concept of home for immigrants.

Wendy Seller, Assistant Professor, Foundation Studies, for preparation of her  large digital collages for her upcoming solo exhibition at the Nesto Gallery.

The 2011/12 Professional Development Fund Committee is Silvia Acosta (Professor, Architecture), Edward Dwyer (Professor, HPSS), Thomas Mills (Professor, Foundation Studies), Ellen Petraits (Librarian), and Jocelyn Prince (Assistant Professor/Term Appointment, Glass). The Committee is chaired by Rosanne Somerson, Provost.

Image courtesy, Dennis Congdon

Christina Connett, Dennis Congdon, Faculty, Grants and fellowships, Mary Anne Friel, Masha Ryskin, Matthew Landrus, Professional Development Fund, Thomas Gardner, Tulay Atak, Wendy Seller, Winifred Lambrecht, Yuri Kobayashi

Scroll Up