Libraries at RISD

Lareese Hall, Dean of Libraries
15 Westminster St.
401-709-5900
http://library.risd.edu/

The Dean of Libraries provides leadership for collections on campus that support research and scholarship, including the Nature Lab, Campus Exhibitions, the Writing Center and the Fleet Library at RISD. Visit the pages on Nature Lab and Writing Center to read more about those resources.

The Fleet Library’s collections include 145,000 volumes and 370 current periodicals in print, extensive visual collections comprising 500,000 images in the Picture Collection, and 4000 videos.  The library also subscribes to 35 databases, providing access to more than 1100 online journals, articles in more than 6300 journals, and 3.5 million digital images.  The collections focus on art, architecture and design. Faculty members are encouraged to suggest books and videos for acquisition.

The RISD Library is a member of the Consortium of Rhode Island Academic and Research Libraries. This entitles RISD faculty members to a CRIARL card, which affords borrowing privileges at all academic libraries in the state. The card is available from the Director of Library Services (401-709-5909) or the Readers’ Services Librarian (401-709-5908), and is good for a year or for the term of the appointment. Access to the collections of the neighboring Brown libraries and the Providence Athenaeum is via your activated RISD id card.

Visit the Fleet Library’s extensive website for the catalog, to access databases, to read about further services including research instruction for your students, or to reserve a class or meeting room.

Who reports to the Dean?

Jennifer Liese, Director, RISD Writing Center
jliese@risd.edu

Mark Moscone, Director, Campus Exhibitions
mmoscone@risd.edu

Neal Overstrom, Director, Nature Lab
noverstr@risd.edu

Claudia Covert, Special Collections Librarian
ccovert@risd.edu

Marc Calhoun, Catalog, Reference Librarian
mcalhoun@risd.edu

Sarah Dylla, Special Collections Librarian
sdylla@risd.edu

Robert Garzillo, Technical Services Librarian
rgarzill@risd.edu

Andrew Martinez, Archivist
amartine@risd.edu

Ellen Petraits, Research and Instruction Librarian
epetraits@risd.edu

Mark Pompelia, Visual and Material Resource Librarian
mpompeli@risd.edu