Division of Experimental & Foundation Studies

The Division of Experimental & Foundation Studies (EFS) offers a year-long sequence of courses required for all undergraduate students: Drawing, Design, and Spatial Dynamics. Freshman students and some transfer students take two semesters of each Foundation course. Freshman students elect a major during Wintersession. EFS offers a Summer Program as well for transfer students who need to strengthen some skills before entering the major.

The graduate program in Digital+Media is part of the division, as are the concentrations in Drawing and Computation, Technology and Culture.

Division Link

Joanne Stryker, Dean
Waterman Building, 1st floor
401-454-6177
jstryker@risd.edu

Paula Gaetano-Adi, Experimental & Foundation Studies Programs Head
401-454-6176
pgaetano@risd.edu

Carol Lasch, Advising Coordinator
clasch@risd.edu

Clement Valla
Concentration Coordinator, Computation, Technology & Culture
cvalla@risd.edu

Masha Ryskin
Concentration Coordinator, Drawing
mryskin@risd.edu

Diane Blair, Office Supervisor
401-454-6672
dblair@risd.edu

Karen Zucconi, Department Coordinator
401-454-6176
kzucconi@risd.edu

Elliot Clapp, Digital Education Manager
401-454-6176
eclapp@risd.edu

Paul Virgadamo, Computer Laboratory Technician
401-454-6109
pvirgada@risd.edu

McDonald Wright, Technical Assistant
401-454-6761
mwright@risd.edu

George Dyment, Technical Assistant
401-454-6699
gdymen01@risd.edu

Shane Richards, Technical Assistant
401-277-4840
srichard@risd.edu

Evan Finkle, Digital Fabrication Technician
efinkle@risd.edu

Full-time Faculty
Mitchell (Mickey) Ackerman, Professor
Alejandro Borsani, Assistant Professor
Miriam Cabell, Assistant Professor
Dawn Clements, Assistant Professor
Lee Dejasu, Associate Professor
Kai Franz, Assistant Professor
Adela Goldbard, Assistant Professor, TERM
Paula Gaetano-Adi, Associate Professor
Shawn Greenlee, Associate Professor (sabbatical)
Leslie Hirst, Associate Professor (EHP Chief Critic)
Emma Hogarth, Assistant Professor, TERM
Elinore Hollinshead, Professor
Kenneth Horii, Professor
Gareth Jones, Professor
Carol Lasch, Associate Professor
Eleanor Lazarek, Assistant Professor, TERM
Daniel Lefcourt, Associate Professor
Judith Maloney, Assistant Professor, TERM
Mark Milloff, Professor
Thomas Mills, Professor
Todd Moore, Professor (sabbatical)
Norman Paris, Associate Professor
Masha Ryskin, Assistant Professor
David Scanavino, Assistant Professor, TERM
Asli Serbest, Associate Professor (leave)
Jonathan Sylvia, Assistant Professor, TERM
Clement Valla, Assistant Professor
Deborah Zlotsky, Associate Professor

Part-time Faculty
Luis Alonso, Senior Critic
Jonathan Bonner, Senior Critic
Mark Cetilia, Critic
Deborah Coolidge, Senior Critic
Alba Corrado, Senior Critic
Hilary Doyle, Critic
Yizhak Elyashiv, Senior Critic
Nicholas Evans-Cato, Senior Critic
Patricia Ginther, Senior Critic
Alfredo Gisholt, Critic
Amy Goodwin, Critic
Luli Heintz, Critic
Martie Holmer, Senior Critic
Nicole Juen, Critic
Michael Lamar, Senior Critic
Cara Liberatore, Critic
Clara Lieu, Critic
Lucia Monge, Critic
Chris Novello, Critic
Neal Overstrom, Nature Lab Director
James (Jim) Peters, Critic
Rachel Rosenkrantz, Critic
David Alan Ross, Critic
Thad Russell, Senior Critic
Travess Smalley, Critic
Gwen Strahle, Senior Critic
Pamela Unwin-Barkley, Senior Critic